Saturday 21 October 2017
Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

VC Jubilee Cycling Club 

Coaching & Volunteering

VC Jubilee is purely run by volunteers, many of whom are qualified British Cycling Coaches. Our coaches are qualified at different levels in different disciplines but they all follow the same rules and guidelines and have the same core coaching skills. To be a volunteer or a coach in VC Jubilee you don't need to have any experience, you can help out and get one foot on the coaching ladder at any time.

Contact Ben Miller, the clubs Volunteer Coordinator to find out more This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Riders & Youngsters

You can start helping VC Jubilee from the word go, there's always something we need  help with, whether it's waving the finish flag at the end of a race or helping coaches run sessions for riders. When helping out VC Jubilee you gain VCJ Volunteer Hours which you will be rewarded for at the end of the year. If you're between 14 and 18 years old you an also enrol for the British Cycling Award for Young Volunteers meaning you will not only gain VCJ Hours, but also hours towards this national award, then at the end of the year you may get the chance to go to the British Cycling National awards ceremony to collect it.

If you're aged between 16 and 18 you can start your coaching pathway by gaining the British Cycling Level 1 Coaching Award. This course enables you to coach the basic skills of cycling to a group of riders and learn the core skills that every coach requires. In VC Jubilee this course is usually offered free using bursary grants as long as you actively volunteer or ride in the club.

Adults

VC Jubilee always needs volunteers for various events throughout the year, as an adult you can help in many ways whether it's running an event or just making the tea. All assistance is greatly appreciated and we can't do anything without you. There are many awards and qualifications you can get through VC Jubilee to not only assist the club, but to also expand your knowledge of cycling and life skills. These include:

First Aid Qualifications

BC Official Event Organisers

BC Event Commissaries

Registered Time Trial Time Keepers & Organiser

Coaching Qualifications

Mountain Bike Leader Awards

As an adult you can also start your coaching pathway by gaining the British Cycling Level 1 Coaching Award. Alternatively you can go straight into more depth on the British Cycling Level 2 Core Coaching Award. As with the youngsters the courses are usually offered free by the club through the use of bursary grants. Having completed your level 2 core award you can move on to more discipline specific coaching, if you are wanting to advance please speak to Club Volunteer Coordinator Ben Miller who can help you choose the best course based on your aspirations and the needs of the club. He will also mentor you in completing the course should you so wish. More info about coaching courses can be found here on the BC website.

 

Calendar

Sat Oct 21 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Cancelled Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sat Oct 21 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking
Sun Oct 22 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Tue Oct 24 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Cyclocross Training
Wed Oct 25 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Turbo Training
Thu Oct 26 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Thursday Thrash
Sat Oct 28 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sat Oct 28 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking
Sun Oct 29 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Tue Oct 31 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Cyclocross Training
Wed Nov 01 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Turbo Training
Thu Nov 02 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Thursday Thrash
Sat Nov 04 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Mountain Biking - Stanmer Park
Sat Nov 04 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking
Sun Nov 05 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Tue Nov 07 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Cyclocross Training
Wed Nov 08 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Turbo Training
Thu Nov 09 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Thursday Thrash
Sat Nov 11 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sat Nov 11 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking
Sun Nov 12 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Tue Nov 14 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Cyclocross Training
Wed Nov 15 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Turbo Training
Thu Nov 16 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Thursday Thrash
Sat Nov 18 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sat Nov 18 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking
Sun Nov 19 @09:00 -
ESCA Reliability Ride
Sun Nov 19 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides