Saturday 19 January 2019
Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Pedals, by Bob.6 Pedals
 
I’ve been asked about pedals by members who haven't yet made the ’big step’ to clipless. Yes, there are several different systems, but there are just two basic styles:
 
There’s the ones where the shoe plates stick out and make you waddle like a duck when off the bike  such as Look, Time, Speedplay, SPD-L etc.
 
And then there’s SPDs, where the shoe plates are recessed and you can walk like a human being. SPDs are probably what you already have on your mountain bike if you use plates. SPDs are not seen as sexy, because they are not used in the peloton. In SPDs, there are Shimano ‘Mxxx’ types (double sided) and ‘Axxx’ types (single-sided).
 
This article from The Comic explains the different systems.
 
It is said that if you are a powerful rider, you may find that SPDs can be uncomfortable for long distances, but I’ve found them OK up to a ride of 300 miles. However, I did use ‘Look’ for racing.
 
[Ed. I have SPDs on my mountain bike as Bob suggests but on my road bike I switched to Time as they have more "float", meaning angular rotation, which is supposed to help your knees. My knees stopped aching after that - it may have been the pedals. Anyway, I waddle like the ducks and the pros now.]

Calendar

Sat Jan 19 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sat Jan 19 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking Adur Rec
Sun Jan 20 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Jan 26 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sun Jan 27 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Feb 02 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Mountain Biking - Stanmer Park
Sat Feb 02 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking Stanmer Park
Sun Feb 03 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Feb 09 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sun Feb 10 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Feb 16 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sat Feb 16 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking Adur Rec
Sun Feb 17 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides