Sunday 21 January 2018
Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Pedals, by Bob.6 Pedals
 
I’ve been asked about pedals by members who haven't yet made the ’big step’ to clipless. Yes, there are several different systems, but there are just two basic styles:
 
There’s the ones where the shoe plates stick out and make you waddle like a duck when off the bike  such as Look, Time, Speedplay, SPD-L etc.
 
And then there’s SPDs, where the shoe plates are recessed and you can walk like a human being. SPDs are probably what you already have on your mountain bike if you use plates. SPDs are not seen as sexy, because they are not used in the peloton. In SPDs, there are Shimano ‘Mxxx’ types (double sided) and ‘Axxx’ types (single-sided).
 
This article from The Comic explains the different systems.
 
It is said that if you are a powerful rider, you may find that SPDs can be uncomfortable for long distances, but I’ve found them OK up to a ride of 300 miles. However, I did use ‘Look’ for racing.
 
[Ed. I have SPDs on my mountain bike as Bob suggests but on my road bike I switched to Time as they have more "float", meaning angular rotation, which is supposed to help your knees. My knees stopped aching after that - it may have been the pedals. Anyway, I waddle like the ducks and the pros now.]

Calendar

Sun Jan 21 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sun Jan 21 @10:30 - 12:00PM
Elevenses: Pop Up Cafe
Tue Jan 23 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Cyclocross Training
Sat Jan 27 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sat Jan 27 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking
Sun Jan 28 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Tue Jan 30 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Cyclocross Training
Sat Feb 03 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Mountain Biking - Stanmer Park
Sat Feb 03 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking
Sun Feb 04 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Feb 10 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sat Feb 10 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking
Sun Feb 11 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Feb 17 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sat Feb 17 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking
Sat Feb 17 @15:30 -
Velodrome Calshot Park
Sun Feb 18 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides