Saturday 31 October 2020
Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Brighton Excelsior Cycling Club 

Rick Stringer is our honorary Club President. He and wife Val are our longest-serving members.

This week the family lost Rick's brother Michael, also a Brighton Excelsior member, and they wanted to share a few words in his memory:

Michael Stringer

My brother, Michael, has been a member of Brighton Excelsior Cycling Club since 1969.
He joined Rick and Val, our father, Bill Stringer, and our cousin Dave Stringer who were all active
Club members.

Michael mostly enjoyed touring and club runs. He vividly remembered a tour to Austria and the taxing climb of the Grossglockner [below] after which he would have given his bike away! He did the odd time trial when required, removing his saddlebag but raced with lights and mudguards and recorded 1 hour 7 minutes for a local 25.
He remained a club member and rode his cycle up to two months before he sadly passed away on 20th January 2020 aged 75.
Hopefully, there are no hills in Heaven!


Rest in peace Michael.
Team Stringer

 

Calendar

Sat Oct 31 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sun Nov 01 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sun Nov 01 @09:00 - 01:00PM
Track Cycling Calshot Park
Sat Nov 07 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking Stanmer Park
Sun Nov 08 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Nov 14 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sun Nov 15 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Nov 21 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sun Nov 22 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Nov 28 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sun Nov 29 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides