Tuesday 18 December 2018
Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Sportive

It’s great fun to take on the challenge of a sportive with other club members. Brighton Excelsior riders take part in various events around Sussex and further afield.

Sportives or "cyclosportives" to give them their full title, are long distance organised events, which involve completing a given route within a particular time limit, typically ranging from anywhere between 40 and 150 miles. Sportive routes usually take in the most challenging roads in their area, with long, steep climbs and descents, testing both riding skills and fitness. Famous sportives include the Prudential Ride London 100 and the Dragon Ride.

Sportive rides are generally run for profit by professional event organisers and therefore most rides benefit from a package of rider support that might include transponder timing, generous feed-stations, breakdown recovery, certificates/medals and a fully signed route. Also, many event organisers have developed multiple route options such as ‘Short, Standard and Epic” distances meaning that a wide range of riders is catered for.

Some are quite expensive, so you need to be selective. The ones organised by Wiggle and Evans are free for Under 16s accompanied by a paying adult and they usually charge less for the shorter rides. In contrast others are £25-£30 per rider - So you would expect some pretty decent goodies and organisation for that. Entering well in advance or in groups will often work out cheaper.

Calendar

Tue Dec 18 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Cyclocross Training
Sat Dec 22 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sun Dec 23 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Dec 29 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sun Dec 30 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Sat Jan 05 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Mountain Biking - Stanmer Park
Sat Jan 05 @10:00 - 12:00PM
Adult Mountain Biking Stanmer Park
Sun Jan 06 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Tue Jan 08 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Cyclocross Training
Sat Jan 12 @09:00 - 12:00PM
Youth Mountain Biking - AOAC
Sun Jan 13 @09:00 -
Sunday Road Rides
Tue Jan 15 @18:30 - 08:00PM
Cyclocross Training